Fall Harvest and Tomatoes Galore

This part of the year is probably the best time of year for food in Canada (this part of it anyways). I think the variety, quantity, and quality of local foods is at its peak. I also love this time of year because the days are fairly warm and mostly sunny but the nights are cool and crisp, and the leaves are just starting to change. I look forward to autumn, though I like every season.

Lately, from both my backyard garden and the one I help out at, I have been harvesting lots of tomatoes and cucumbers, as well as some various kinds of squash, hot peppers, and carrots among other things. Most of the squash and the root vegetables such as carrots, potatoes, and onion I am living on the plants or in the ground because I know they’ll last for a while longer there and with the abundance of tomatoes I’ve been eating a lot of tomato dishes. Today I made a chick pea curry using an heirloom tomats and hot peppers that I picked fresh (along with various other ingredients), which I garnished with green zebra tomatoes and parsley (as a substitute for cilantro) that I also picked fresh. Instead of utensils I made whole wheat paratha and ate it with that.

  Here is a picture of a couple of the green zebra tomatoes we have growing, I had never seen them before the fruits appeared on the plants so that made them interesting. According to Wikipedia “Green Zebra was bred by Tom Wagner of Everett, Washington, and introduced in his Tater-Mater Seed Catalog in 1983. It is not an heirloom tomato, despite often being mistakenly designated as one.” They look neat and have lots of flavour too. Also picture is on of the squashes (an acorn) I picked, and the peppers. I don’t know the variety of pepper, and I haven’t tried one on it’s own but when pruning some tomatoes recently the other person I manage the garden with tried one and said it was fairly hot. The curry didn’t turn out that hot though (I used two to make two bowls of curry). I supposed I should just try one myself to see how hot they are.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Fall Harvest and Tomatoes Galore

  1. Nothing is better than heirloom tomatoes. Mine did very well this year. I should have turned red from all the tomatoes I have been eating. I looks like you had a delicious meal.

Leave a Reply

