Small town life

In case anyone ever wonders what kind of things I do all alone up here in Collingwood, I thought I would make a post about how I occupy my day in a fairly typical but enjoyable manner So today after getting up and making a soy milk/banana/strawberry smoothie for breakfast I went to a 90 minute power yoga class (similar to Ashtanga or Baptist) which generally makes me feel great for the rest of the day. I will generally then make myself lunch at home, which after a light breakfast is usually something hardy. One of my favourite’s is scrambled tofu, fruit, and sometimes bakes home fries. It’s healthy but I still feel it’s a homey comfort food.

Today though, since it was a nice day I decided to have a picnic lunch at Sunset Point, a rock slab beach I used to come to as a kid when my family made summertime trips up to here visiting family. I had made “egg” salad with tofu yesterday so I made that into a sandwich. It turned out quite well, it tastes similar to what I remember egg salad tasting like but not quite the same obviously. A good picnic lunch in a park by the lake is always good.

The rest of the day will be occupied with doing some household chores, reading in the backyard, having tea, going for a walk, and other mundane but pleasant things (plus looking for a job). I also have a vegetable garden in the works. I am going into this knowing nothing about gardening so we’ll see how it goes. My parents planted got some potted herbs and have strawberry, tomato, and rhubarb plants growing already. And I planted corn, cucumber, beans, peas, carrots, and a mixture of salad greens that have been the first things to pop out of the ground.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then later in the evening I will make dinner. I often cook for my parents because I enjoy it and because they don’t always know what to cook for vegan meals. Even though being around my parents all the time can be a bit much I still always try to have a nice sit-down meal at the dinner table with them. A meal from the other night I made that I really enjoyed was this sauce-less pasta dish made by sauteing the vegetables, herbs, and spices, then adding the noodles to the frying pan. I like pretty much all pasta (assuming it’s vegan), and this one I like particularly because the lack of sauce makes it a little different. I was inspired by this recipe, to which I made some variations.

Vegetarianism and healthy eating aren’t the only aspects of food that are important to meal, the social aspect is as well. I also enjoy being able to share something I’ve put effort and sometimes creativity into making, which is why I post food pictures on here, it’s a way for me to share with people I can’t actually be around. Not everything I make turns out great or is really fancy but the improvement in my cooking and diet over the past couple years has been pretty dramatic and I’m proud of that. It’s become an important part of my overall outlook on life, and overall lifestyle; merging with my political and philosophical views, and other outlets for my energies such as my recent yoga practice.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

